high school stuff

June 30, 2009

poems, random stuff i copied back then from a classmate’s collection.

THE FRESHMAN CHILD

The freshman child
so meek and coy
admiringly stares
at a sophomore boy

The sophomore boy
has his mind in a whirl
all because of
a junior girl

The junior girl
in a sleek black sedan
silently pursues
her senior man

The senior man
so dashing and wild
is secretly in love
with the feshman child.

(untitled)
if you see me walking in the road with someone else,
it’s not because i like his company.
it’s because you’re not brave enough to walk beside me.

if you hear me talking about him all the time,
it’s not because he pleases me,
it’s because you’re too deaf to hear my heartbeat.

if you see me falling for someone new,
it’s not because i love him.
it’s because you’re not there to catch my fall.

if you’re feeling lost,
i, too, am nowhere,
i, too, don’t know where the road is going.

are we gonna cross each other’s path,
or completely turn around?
will we just go off where we had,
or go to places where love is bound?

don’t let me walk with him,
it’s you i want to walk with.
don’t let me talk about him,
it’s you i want to talk about.
don’t let me fall for him,
it’s you i want to fall in love with.

ALL BECAUSE YOU KISSED ME GOODNIGHT
(we encountered this in our 1st year english class. Or was it second year?)

i climbed the door and opened the stairs
said my pajamas and put on my prayers
then turned off the bed and crawled into the light
all because you kissed me goodnight.

next morning i woke up and scrambled my shoes
polished my egg and toasted the news
i couldn’t tell my left from my right
all because you kissed me goodnight.

that evening at last i felt normal again
so i picked up my mother and called the phone
i spoke to the puppy and threw dad a bone
even at midnight the sun was still bright
all because you kissed me goodnight.

(I saw some papers hidden in a shoe box. I forgot what they were and upon reading, found these notes. So high school.)

 

Leave a Reply

