niche

Yesterday, my devotion was about the servant who does his work bringing delight to his master. This morning, I read about John the Baptist who prepared the way for the Messiah. He lived in the wilderness, had locusts and wild honey for food, wore coarse clothes and preached about God’s kingdom there. And the thing I learned about that is, he was where he was supposed to be. He fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah who said, “He is a voice shouting in the wilderness…” He did what he was born to do. He was where God wanted him to be. He did what he was supposed to do at the right time. And many came to know about God’s kingdom, repented and were baptized. I can imagine the joy he brought to God’s heart. Not just on the results of his ministry but because he became what God wanted him to be.

And then Jesus came to him to be baptized and he was astounded, I can imagine. Him, the servant, baptizing his Master. He even tried to talk Jesus out of it. He recognized he was the one who needed to be baptized by Jesus. But Jesus’ reply was: It should be done, for we must carry out all that God requires. Even the Son of God needed to follow protocol. He obeyed. He recognized the Father’s authority and submitted to it. And when he came up out of the water, God himself said, “This is my dearly loved Son, who brings me great joy.”

Two men, being where they were supposed to be, doing what they were supposed to do, fulfilling what God told long ago was to happen. John who followed God’s calling for his life, Jesus who submitted to God’s authority so that he obeyed even the simplest guidelines. Both bringing glory to God’s name, joy to his heart.

Am I where I’m supposed to be? Am I doing what I’m supposed to do? Am I bringing joy to my Master’s heart?

Leave a Reply

