truth thursday: to answer your question

I’ve kept my hair short for quite a few years now. And I’ve been asked a lot of times why I do so.

I guess I just never really found time to  think about the answer to that and over the years I have had a lot of reasons why I kept getting my hair cut. Hence, the answer to this question isn’t a single idea. But who knows? I just might find a single thread running through my answers by the end of this post.

The first time I had a pixie cut was after a year of living like a zombie. That time I wanted a fresh start so I went ahead and let my hair be chopped off. Yes, I think chop is the right word because the stylist used a hair razor instead of scissors. The razor gave the cut its edgy look. Oh, boy! Did it feel great! I think, for the first time in my life, I looked at the mirror and said, ‘You rock!’

I guess I needed it then to trick myself into thinking I wasn’t the same anymore. Not the same girl who was always the victim of her own feelings and emotions. Blah, blah, blah.

The other times after that was not as dramatic as the first. But I’ve always felt that unexplainable refreshing feeling every time I get my hair cut, maintaining it short.

Of course, there’s some vanity involved here. I think I look too ordinary if I have a normal mid-length cut or long hair for that matter. (I still look ordinary with short hair but maybe less so.) I think my hair looks limper and flatter as it grows long. I think I’m just too lazy now to let it grow long again so I just get another haircut when I think it already lost its style.

Sometimes, there are follow up questions.

“How about when you get married? Is it okay to have short hair on your wedding day?” These always make me laugh.

The last time I was searching for pictures of pixie cuts I saw this.

pixie-bridal-haircut

Elegant enough for a wedding, right? Okay, end of discussion on the right haircut for weddings.

Then, there’s the “But have you ever thought of letting your hair grow long again?” And to that I say, “Of course, I have.”

I think, deep inside, all girls would like to wear their hair long, dead-straight like a Japanese doll or with big, elegant waves like Hollywood stars. But for some of us who have to make do with brittle, easily-falling-or-breaking-off hair, we just choose to do what’s best with it.

I think you just come to a point where you’re not so particularly conscious about what others call as a woman’s crowning glory. (That phrase never resounded with me anyway. I haven’t really understood or pictured or felt what it really wanted to say.) It’s not that you don’t want to look nice or that you don’t care about how you look. You just don’t categorize looks under the really-important-things-in-life anymore. And I guess there’s no need to say (let alone explain) that to those who know what that means.

(image from: http://goo.gl/rnZoZG)

For #TruthThursday (http://truththursdays.com/2013/08/08/to-answer-your-question/)

2 thoughts on “truth thursday: to answer your question

  1. This blog reminded me of 2007 when I shaved my head as an outward expression of my resolve to repent. I guess our hair can be a reliable reminder of any resolution we want to do, because it’s almost always the first thing we fix (or maybe see) when we look at ourselves in front of the mirror. Doing something drastic with it then would be a potent reminder of what we want to accomplish, start or end.

    Nice blog Ms. Writer!

Leave a Reply

